Three Day Challenge of de-stressing and new recipes.

Turkish Chickpea Cookies

Turkish Chickpea Cookies

With everything going on in life that stresses me out and makes me feel like I’m not doing what I should be, I was given a three day plan to de-stress. I then gave myself a three challenge, and what helps me to unwind and let go of the stresses in my life; running and trying new recipes.

Day One was Friday and seeing a Chickpea Flour Cookie recipe on Pinterest was my first challenge. I already had the chickpea flour from another recipe and the rest of the ingredients. I did not have whole wheat flour so I subbed regular all-purpose flour.  As I was making the cookie dough I did notice that the amount of liquid was not enough to create an actual dough so I had to add probably about 3-4 tablespoons of water to get it to a dough consistency. I took about a tablespoon of dough and rolled them in to balls.  Here’s where it became fun and I just let my mind wander and let go of everything as I dipped each cookie in to lightly whisked egg whites and then in to either powdered sugar, cocoa poster and chia seeds. You can see below what they look like post-dipping and pre-baked.

Chickpea dough cookies

Chickpea dough cookies

After dipping and coating the cookies I placed them in the fridge to chill out for an hour and then in to the oven they went for 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees. The cookies weren’t that sweet even though they have powdered sugar in them. The best one’s were the powdered sugar and cocoa ones. I think the next time I try these I’ll add more sugar, maybe some honey and see how that works out. Overall this was a good day, I was able to unwind while making the cookies and had dessert all in one!

Baked

Baked

Today’s challenge will be posted later, my assignment: saltwater taffy!

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

