Taste New York

I was in New York a couple weeks ago on my way to Israel. I stayed with family on Long Island and we ventured in to The City! I have a weird relationship with New York City….let me explain. I love the excitement of everything and how there’s a different restaurant on every corner, the fashion and entertainment and activities are a plenty.  Just the culinary options are enough to make me love New York! But I was born and raised in Scottsdale, Arizona and for me being surrounded by buildings just doesn’t feel like home to me. It is sometimes a little unnerving to me to look up and just see buildings. I like to see the mountains and sunset. I love New York but in small doses and short amounts of time.

Once we arrived and parked the car we walked around, and this is one of the aspects of the city I do enjoy, the walking. I like that you can walk to anywhere you want. So we walked and we went to the Center for Jewish History Museum which was very cool. There’s so much Jewish history that I didn’t even know about. After the museum we did some more walking and window shopping and then it was time for lunch since we were all hungry. We saw a cute bakery, Breads Bakery near Union Square and headed in for some grub! Would Julia call it grub? Oh my goodness, as soon as you step in the door you are overwhelmed with the smell of buttery pastry goodness! It’s incredible! We had lunch, their croissants and bagels, to die for! Then oh my cousins convinced me to get a rugelach for my plane ride the next day to Israel. But first I had to try the Chocolate Babka. Hands down best chocolate babka I have ever had!

If you are in the area I highly, highly, highly suggest you go try (read: RUN DON’T WALK) to Bread’s Bakery and order every last Chocolate Babka they have. Ok, maybe not every last one, but if you have every last one think of all the people you’ll make happy by sharing your delicious chocolatey babka with that day!

Best Chocolate Babka!

Best Chocolate Babka!

Leave a Reply

