Banana Cream Pie……almost…

Well, this blog is about my trial and error experiences with trying out new recipes and here is one that definitely was a flop. I really wanted a to make a pie. I typed it in to my Pinterest search bar and started pinning pies, not too many just enough to give me an idea of a few different types of pies, cream pies, fruit pies, special crusted pies etc. I found an old-fashioned banana cream pie using a pre-made crust, which is fine, I was really focused on the banana cream part anyway.

So the process was fun, I scalded the milk. Which by the way I have never done. What is scalding the milk anyway?? I googled ‘how to scald milk’ which told me I needed to heat the milk over low to medium heat so as not to heat it too quickly but bring it to a hot temperature. Ok so I scalded my whole milk, added it to the pot with the sugar, flour and salt and heated that as well. I had lightly beaten my yolks and tempered them before adding those in to my hot pot of liquid ingredients. While that went on I had baked my frozen crust and let it cool. I sliced one banana and layered it on the bottom of my crust. I was also boiling a can of sweetened condensed milk to make caramel sauce but knew that was going to take longer than the whole pie.

After letting the liquid cool with everything mixed in I poured it into the crust. I have extra filling so I filled three small cups for pudding. I put them all in the fridge to set overnight and they looked beautiful!

So here I am this morning going to have some pie as an early Monday morning breakfast snack with my protein shake, don’t judge, and as I cut myself a piece of pie, it’s not really set and pours over the crust and my plate as a big mess of runny yumminess….

This was definitely not a sababa experience, I have yet to figure out why my pie was not actually a pie….

I enjoyed making it however which is always 95% of the fun of a new recipe. I love just putting away the trials of the day, the stress, the blah and just escaping in a recipe, in something new. I can leave myself behind and just create something with as few or as many ingredients as necessary. I will figure out a banana cream pie and it will be delicious and set! Below are the pretty photos that fooled me in to thinking I had actually created a pie. However, as Julia said:

“This is my invariable advice to people: Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!”
Julia Child, My Life in France

20130916-185000.jpg

20130916-185019.jpg

20130916-185217.jpg

Leave a Reply

